

## ESB Newsletter March 4, 2021

## 2021 ESB Scientific Awards / Elections / Phishing emails

Dear members of the European Society for Biomaterials.

I am pleased to inform you that the Independent Awards Committee of the ESB has selected the winners of the ESB Awards 2021. I would like to thank Professor Luigi Ambrosio, Professor Elizabeth Tanner, Professor Sandra van Vlierberghe and Professor João Mano, the members of the Awards Committee, for taking upon them this difficult task. They had to make a choice from a total of 4 nominations for the George Winter Award, 4 nominations for the Jean Leray Award, 2 nominations for the International Award and 4 nominations for the Klaas de Groot Award. I would also like to thank you, our members, for these nominations, which are a testimony of your involvement with our society and your appreciation of the work of our colleagues.

The winner of the **2021 George Winter Award** is **Professor Pekka Vallittu** (<a href="https://www.utu.fi/en/people/pekka-vallittu">https://www.utu.fi/en/people/pekka-vallittu</a>). The George Winter award is established to recognize, encourage and stimulate outstanding research contributions to the field of biomaterials.

The winner of the **2021 Jean Leray Award** is **Doctor Riccardo Levato** (<a href="https://www.umcutrecht.nl/en/research/researchers/levato-r">https://www.umcutrecht.nl/en/research/researchers/levato-r</a>). The Jean Leray award is established to recognize, encourage and stimulate outstanding research contributions to the field of biomaterials by early-career scientists.

The winner of the **2020 International Award** is **Professor David Mooney** (<a href="https://wyss.harvard.edu/team/core-faculty/david-mooney/">https://wyss.harvard.edu/team/core-faculty/david-mooney/</a>). The International award is established as a recognition of scientists who have generally spent their career outside Europe, who have been internationally recognized, have a high scientific profile, and have made major contributions to the field of biomaterials.

The winner of the **2020 Klaas de Groot Award** is **Professor Clemens van Blitterswijk** (<a href="https://merlninstitute.com/merln/clemens-van-blitterswijk">https://merlninstitute.com/merln/clemens-van-blitterswijk</a>). The Klaas de Groot award is established as a prestigious recognition of scientists who have shown a distinct ability to provide excellent mentorship and guidance to young researchers, helping them to establish their own independent career.

Congratulations to all awardees on this great achievement! The 2021 awardees have been invited to deliver a lecture at the next annual meeting of our society that will take place between 5 and 9 September 2021 in Porto, Portugal (<a href="https://esb2021.org">https://esb2021.org</a>).

The deadline for nominations of candidates who seek election for one of the five seats that will become available in our Council starting from September 2021 was closed on February 28, 2021. You can find out more the candidates by looking at their profiles which have been published on our website "About <u>ESB</u> – Elections".

The online voting system is now open for members and will close on March 31, 2021. To vote please login to your account on our website and click on Election & Vote tab. You can select up to 5 candidates. We hope that many of you will cast your vote and help us shape the future of our society!

Finally, I would like to warn you that unfortunately, again, phishing emails are circulating that are sent from an email address carrying my name. In these emails, people are asked to get in contact or to transfer money in support of an activity organized by the ESB. Please <u>do not answer or undertake any action and delete the emails immediately</u>. The council members will never make such requests by email to any of the ESB members. Should you have any further questions, please contact me using my institutional address, my ESB address or by phone.

## Kind regards,



Pamela Habibovic, President (on behalf of the ESB Council)